There no items in your cart.
Checkout
MJTRENDS

Adhesive and seams with transparent latex

Hello. I was wondering a) if the adhesives offered here dry clear, and b) how seams look with transparent latex. Will they look fairly neat and tidy or will the adhesive show through very noticeably?

Response by: DeeKay, August 27th 2013 3:40:32 pm

I am new to latexware making, but I am quickly learning a lot through trial and error. So far, as far as adhesion, I have found that using solvent based adhesive (Rubber Cement) is MUCH better than trying to use latex milk (liquid latex). Both types of adhesive have their pro's and con's...

While the latex milk does not curl up nearly as bad, and it does dry mostly clear, I find it  still has a slight tint of white at times where you apply too generously and it does not hold on as tight...also I find I get a lot more air bubbles and an uneven texture from it being so liquidy.

The Rubber cement will drastically curl your rubber, BUT if you are patient and wait about 20 mins, you can very easily uncurl the material without too much stress.

I would recommend the rubber cement over liquid latex for adhesion. To me, dealing with a little curling during the drying process is worth a more clear and stable seam finish.

Response by: Monica, September 8th 2013 5:00:19 pm

Rubber Cement is excellent for gluing latex. It dries very fast and clear. It does make latex curl up, but it is a natural property of latex to curl up while being cleaned with bestine or when rubber cement is applied. I don't see why curling is viewed as a problem at all. When the cement dries completely, latex uncurls on its own. As for transparent latex, seams do look very nice and neat with no traces of glue, as long as latex has been cleaned properly before gluing.

Response by: kelsey, May 21st 2012 10:09:25 pm